For the month of May, you are challenged to create daily-ish.

That’s right, daily-ish.

This is a free challenge where above all, it’s totally okay if you miss a day.

It’s a challenge where if you complete even one out of the 31 challenges, we’ll be celebrating.

This is a challenge for the mess makers and recovering perfectionists. It’s for those who miss their creative practice, want to jump start it, or are absolutely rocking one.

Messy May is for you, exactly as you are right now.

Join Messy May for free

How to take part in Messy May:

Step 1: Sign up for free on this page.

Step 2: Follow the prompt and micro challenge on Instagram each day. If you’re signed up, you’ll receive classroom access, daily email reminders, and bonuses in your email inbox each day.

Step 3: Create along with the host artist, share your art (#getmessymay), cheer on other creatives⁠.

Bonus: Join us for the events, share your art to win giveaways, and make some art friends (with our help)

Each day, a different artist will be sharing their interpretation as well as a prompt for you to create from. It’s hosted on Instagram, with bonus goodies and reminders being sent directly to your inbox.

We can’t wait to properly introduce you to the prompts and the artists. Here’s a peek:

https://getmessyart.com/peek/messy-may/Special Events

⚠️ Make sure you’re signed up for the latest details.

Saturday 30 April

Season Hangout + Year of Courage

2pm New York EST / 8pm Berlin CET / 6am Sydney AEDT

Members only please RSVP here.


Tuesday 3 May

One Zine in 60 Minutes Workshop

10am New York EST / 4pm Berlin CET / 2am Sydney AEDT

Open to all


Saturday 14 May

Mid month re-commitment.

9am New York EST / 3pm Berlin CET / 1am Sydney AEDT

Open to all


Saturday 28 May

Year of Courage Hangout

2pm New York EST / 8pm Berlin CET / 6am Sydney AEDT

Members only – please RSVP here.


Saturday 4 June

Closing Hangout

2pm New York EST / 8pm Berlin CET / 6am Sydney AEDT

Open to all

Saturday 4 – Sunday 5 June

Get Messy Open Weekend!

Open to all – make sure you’re signed up to receive the details


Members-only events are available only to Get Messy members.

Open to all events are available to members and non-members alike. Bring your friends!

Here’s to a month of imperfect creativity!

Join Messy May for free